Amazon

A number of popular website became unavailable on Tuesday, as early reports trace the cause back to Fastly, a cloud computing provider supporting a variety of major websites.

Affected websites – including Amazon, Reddit, Twitch, and the UK Government website – displayed the message: “Error 503 Service Unavailable”.

On Fastly’s status page, it announced at 9:58 UTC (11:58 CEST) that it was investigating “potential impact to performance with our CDN services”.

By 10:44 UTC (12:44 CEST), it said that it had identified the issue and that a fix was being implemented.

At the time of writing, it says that “the issue has been identified and a fix has been applied”. Indeed, the aforementioned affected websites seem to be available.

The markets responded quickly to the outage, with shares of the company sinking five per cent in pre-market.

Related

Morgan Stanley

Morgan Stanley bans unvaccinated staff and clients from NY offices

June 23, 2021
by Solomon Cefai

It is part of the company's desire to lift COVID related restrictions in the office

Revolut annual losses double as admin costs on risk, compliance and controls explode

June 21, 2021
by Solomon Cefai

The company has more than 15 million retail customers

Jet engines by Rolls-Royce to run on synthetic fuels following drive towards net-zero emissions

June 18, 2021
by Helena Grech

The world-renowned manufacturer says all products launched after 2030 to use sustainable fuels