Prime Minister Robert Abela has announced that Malta is one of four European Union member states that are ready to recognise Palestine as a state.

A short press release issued by the Office of the Prime Minister stated that the leaders of Malta, Spain, Ireland and Slovenia met in the margins of the European Council to discuss the latest developments in Gaza and the Middle East.

The four countries agreed that the two-state solution is crucial for peace in the Middle East and therefore ready to recognise Palestine as a State when the conditions for the establishment of this same state allow.

They all agreed that there should be a permanent ceasefire immediately, that all hostages be released and humanitarian aid should be delivered immediately.

They also noted positively that the Council agreed with the conclusions on the conflict in the Middle East.

Palestine is recognised as a state by 139 of the United Nations’ 193 members, but lacks recognition from the majority of the EU, as well as the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Malta has long enjoyed friendly relatoins with Palestine, and is one of nine EU countries – largely in the east of the bloc – to recognise it as a sovereign state.

The EU is the single largest donor of foreign aid to the Palestinian Authority.

Featured Image:

Representative Office of Malta in Palestine / Facebook



Google parent company Alphabet set to buy cybersecurity startup Wiz, its biggest acquisition yet

July 16, 2024
by Anthea Cachia

Acquisiton figures are double the valuation of the company

Blue checkmarks deceive users, European Commission tells Elon Musk’s X

July 12, 2024
by Robert Fenech

The firm faces huge fines if the preliminary findings are upheld

‘Change begins now’: Labour sweeps to power in crushing UK election victory

July 5, 2024
by Robert Fenech

The party secured a large majority in the UK's 650-seat parliament